Meeting author Siddharth Tripathi

bloggiri.com - Indian Blogs Aggregator
Visit BlogAdda.com to discover Indian blogs

Meeting a fresh talent in the world of Books. This time I am here to introduce a  simple , sober and no doubt handsome young author of India Siddharth Tripathi.

Image

1)Siddharth , say something about you , your education and family as we all want to know you first as an individual in personal front?

I grew up in Banaras. I’m a B.E from NIT Trichy and an MBA from MDI, Gurgaon. I currently live in Gurgaon with my wife and eighteen month old son and I work as a consultant for a business advisory firm.

2) What provoked you to be a part of writing world?

I always wanted to become a writer. And, I always wanted to write this particular story – about teenagers and their struggles, about Banaras and its people. The story kept pestering me till I finally dug up my old diaries and bought a notepad and a pencil to jot down character sketches, chapter outlines etc.

3)  When you first decided to give you words a shape of a Novel?

Image

Sometime in November 2011, I finally opened a new word file and started typing.

4) Who acted as an inspiration in your life?

I have two big inspirations. One is my grandfather – he lived life on his own terms and inspired me to write and to do things that I like doing. The second are The Beatles – their music and their story has never ceased to inspire me.

5) How is your journey so far as an author?

It has been quite an experience. I started writing The Virgins sometime in November 2011. I soon realised that it can’t be done along with a regular job. I quit my day job and finished the book in about 7 months. Writing the book was a lot of fun, editing it was painful. After it hit the market, it was encouraging to know that a lot of readers, bloggers and book reviewers liked it a lot. Marketing and distributing the book has been tough — I’m sure most debut writers have a similar story to tell about book marketing.

Image

6) The Virgins is your debut Novel- why you decided this Title?

The title refers to the characters in the book – there is an undefiled, innocent side to these characters which is tested by their experiences and the events they witness.

7) Why did you select Banaras as the backdrop to this story?

I grew up in Banaras. I think there are many more stories about the city that are waiting to be a told. The city is an eclectic mix of myth, legend, history and religion; and to add to that is the sheer diversity of its inhabitants. The city accepts, without any prejudice, anyone who wishes to call it home. Just spend a month aimlessly roaming through its narrow alleyways; I’m sure you will come back with enough stories to write a book.

Image

8) How tough is it to find a publisher for a debutant author?  how was the situation in your case?

I finished the first part of the book (around 80 pages) and sent it to a literary agent along with a brief synopsis. He found me a publisher who believed in this book. However, I don’t think getting an agent is necessary. Indian publishers are more than happy to consider manuscripts sent by e-mail and/or hard copy.

Image

9) Which is the biggest  appreciation so far received for your novel?

Praise for the book in Deccan Herald and Dainik Jagran was very heartening. I felt really honoured and humbled when someone, a complete stranger, wished me on my birthday and said that my book is the best he’s read in a really long time.

10) Siddhartha, what are your other passions in life?

I’m a film and music buff, I review some of the stuff that I like on my blog – http://moojikandfillums.blogspot.com/. I’m a foodie too — Delhi has a lot to explore especially when it comes to street food.

11) Where you see yourself 5 years down the line?

I haven’t thought about it. I like to plan for the day.

12) What as per you are the qualities of a good author?

  • They are disciplined — there has to be a schedule even though it’s not necessary that you need to write something great every day. I have been trying to do this for a long time now but with limited success
  • They seek feedback – good writers are open to feedback and know what’s relevant
  • They are passionate about the book – the book they’re writing means a lot not because they think it’ll make them rich, but because they believe it’s a story that needs to be told

13) Any suggestion for budding authors?

I had written an article earlier on this. Here’s the link – http://www.youthincmag.com/2013/09/01/writing-your-first-novel/

Check out the review of The Virgins Here

Leave a comment