Manaska Mukhopadhyay- A photographer who believe in self

WriteUp Cafe - Together we Writebloggiri.com - Indian Blogs Aggregator Visit BlogAdda.com to discover Indian blogs

Love and affection towards any creative art can bring success and Manaska Mukhopadhyay is a true example for it. There is hardly any person in this world who dont know how to click a camera, but doing it with perfection and bring life to the photograph is the real work of an expert photographer. If you check out the clicks of Manaska you will get to feel the life in every pic of him. Join me in welcoming Manaska in the stage of SamatawelcomesYou.

 Image

1) Who is Manaska Mukhopadhyay? Our readers will like to know about your professional and educational background?

 

It is a tough question… Well, I am a normal person who is currently pursuing post graduation in Geological Sciences from Jadavpur University, and previously completed my graduation from Durgapur Government College. Apart from educational side, I am strongly passionate about Photography and intend to take my art to a professional level in the future, if possible.

 

2) Learning photography is not a one day job, so when you first realized that there is a photographer within you?

manska

 I clicked my first photograph when I was roughly 11 years old, and won a consolation prize in photography that year, but it was just a random click made in a holiday tour. So, to be honest, I fell in love with this art when my father bought me a Nikon camera, in 2008. There is no particular date when I realized that this is the thing I want to do, but it is from then onward that I started to think about photography. Unfortunately that camera got damaged very soon, and my thrust to photograph remained pending until the year 2011, when I bought my second camera.

 

3) Who is the one who provoked you to get attracted towards the world of Photography?

manas

As a child when I used to see cameras, I felt very excited and longed for having one of my own. But, basically there was no one who in particular provoked me to get attracted to photography. But there was many who inspired me, and helped me stick to this beautiful world of Photography.

 

4) Who trained you to bring perfection in your photography?

mana

As I said earlier there were many who trained and inspired me in Photography. I got my first knowledge about this art from one of my uncles, and my teacher Mr. Mani Sankar Mandal. Dr. Aniket Chakraborty, who is a very well trained photographer and my teacher, gave me some serious knowledge about photography. Mr. Abhishek Roy, a prolific photographer and my guardian in this art, helped me a lot, and is still guiding me. But most importantly two of my fellow photographers, Mr. Debarghya Sengupta and Mr. Pratik Adhikary, helped me more than I could ever expect. It is because of their harsh critiques for bad photos, and high praises for good ones, that I can develop my art to my present level. Apart from them my father, my mother, my elder brother and all other family members always supported me; without their help I can never continue photography.

 

5) What are the other areas of interest in your life?

ma

Apart from photography, I love to watch movies. I love to play football. And I also love Geology, my study course.

 

6) What the major instruments you use while clicking?

 

I previously used a Canon Powershot SX130IS point and shoot camera. Recently I switched to Canon EOS 1100 D DSLR, with 18-55mm and 55-250mm kit lenses.

 

7) Which genre of Photographs attracts you most? Do you make regular experiment with photography?

monai

I love street photography, and macro photography among all other genres. I practice streets and macros the most. Yes, I try to make experiments with photography, try to find different viewpoints, different angles and different techniques.

 

8) What as per you are the qualities mandatory to be a photographer?

 

It is the power of observation that separates a photographer from a normal guy with a camera in a tour. According to me, one should try to develop the observation, compose the shot in mind, and then take out the camera. It is you who shoots the picture, and not the camera. Apart from this, hard work, patience, and good communication skills help one to be a good photographer.

 

9)  What is the biggest appreciation so far you received for your photography?

mmmmmm

Not many. Recently won a local contest organized by I magic Institution, Kolkata. Another small achievement of last year was being selected in the top 100 of the Nat Geo Moments Award, 2012. And, obviously, this interview is itself a great honor for me.

 

10) Anything special you want to share with me and my readers about something which is unique in you.

hhhhhh

No no, I have nothing unique in me. I am just a regular person who has accidentally fallen in love with camera, and can never live without it.

One thing I would like to share with everyone who is new in this world, that, regularly view the works of the greats of this art like, Ansel Adams, Robert Kapa, Raghu Rai, Steve McCurry etc, and many others, it will definitely help the new comers like us to develop the sense of viewing, and composing a shot. And Love Photography, it will definitely love you back.

 

11) What are your future plans?

 

After completing my post graduation I want to pursue my career in Geology, and side by side continue photography. In the future, I definitely want to shift towards photography professionally. Let’s see what happens. But one thing for sure, I am not going to leave my camera alone, I am with my love always.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

