Session with Author Shivam Singh

WriteUp Cafe - Together we Writebloggiri.com - Indian Blogs Aggregator Visit BlogAdda.com to discover Indian blogs

In recent time we will get to see that young people from technical backgrounds are entering the world of writing with huge confidence. Most of these authors are creating a unique place in the mind of readers. One more young author stepped in this world- Shivam Singh.  Expectations are huge from Shivam. Here comes the session with Shivam Singh.

1622608_10200909345530964_1658819049_n

1)  Shivam welcome to ” Samata Welcomes You” , say something about you ,  your educational, professional and family life. In short who you are?

Thanks a lot for welcoming me Samata. It’s an absolute pleasure for me to be having this conversation with you.
Born and brought up in different cities of this country, owing to my father’s transferable job, I have always been a guy who has been very fond of traveling and exploring new places, meeting new people and making new friends and I say it with utter pride that I have been to all metros and major cities of this country ranging from Kolkata, Chennai, Mumbai, Delhi to Bangalore.

I have completed my schooling from Lucknow and graduation from Bhopal and have been working with Infosys Technologies Limited as a Senior Systems Engineer for last two and half years and it’s been quite a learning experience so far.

2)  What’s the difference between a life of a System engineer at Infosys and a creative writer?

A Systems Engineer spends his whole day sitting in a small square sized cubicle in front of a desktop fighting his brain with various bugs and making complex designs and programs. He lives on a fixed salary and in a very tight and fixed schedule where there is no space for any creativity and interacting much with people outside the work area.

While a creative writer’s life is more of a nomad kinds with no fixed schedule, salary and without any certain way of doing work. He lives life on his own terms and conditions, spends his day observing people and things and applying it to his writing. His work allows him to be creative and do it only when he is free and not confined to any 9 to 6 schedule.

3) What provoked you to be a part of writing world?

I have always been an avid reader and have done reviews of quite a few books too but my inception into the writing is quite accidental or I would say ‘By Chance’. I never planned or dreamt to become a writer. These are the one of the best and unforgettable moments of my life that led to the conception of “Silly Girl and a Brat- Best Friends forever”. This book has been dedicated to my best friend and without her I feel I won’t ever have been a writer and this book would have ever existed.

4)  How you manage to invest time towards writing after hectic professional schedule?

Being in the IT industry it’s hard…”Really Hard” to invest time not just towards writing but reading as well. You work on a busy schedule from Monday to Friday which doesn’t give you any spare time to devote to writing or anything else. And the two days you get at the end of week, you prefer to step out of your place and go out on a drive and hang out with friends rather than sitting at home and writing or doing anything else. But as I love writing, I still manage to find some time for it sometimes in between work or on weekends when I am at home and another shock of idea hits me.

5)  When you first decided to give your words a shape of a Novel?

It was some two years back when I decided to pen down this story of my friendship with the best girl I have ever met and the bestest friend I have ever had in my life. I wanted this story of my friendship with her to reach out to the world and make people believe that such kind of friendships do exist.

6)  How is your journey so far as an author?

Nothing changes as such except for the fact that you start getting more attention and importance from the people owing to your author status and you get few people you have never met in this world to recognize you by your name. And this what has been my dream all my life – “To be recognized by people all over the world by my name for my work”.

7) The Silly Girl and a Brat- Best Friends forever is your debut Novel- what’s the genre of this Novel?

ImageImage

This book borrows most of its pieces from my life. Though few parts of my personal life have been exaggerated a bit in the book, but this is done just to make it a joy ride for readers. The reason for which I have kept it under “Fiction- Friendship” genre.

8) Request you to give a small summary of Silly Girl and a Brat- Best Friends forever

Silly Girl and a Brat- Best Friends forever is based on the real-life story of two best friends. It’s about two friends who share an unbreakable bond and are an indispensable part of each other’s lives. It’s about their friendship, the highs and lows, and how they tackle them together.

I would like to mention that it’s not at all a story about two best friends falling in love, as is the trend these days. It’s just about simple, honest friendship.

9)  When this Novel getting launched in the market?

Feb 2014…i.e end of this month.

10)  Authors empire is publishing this Novel, so how you met Kunal Marathe and how you decided to go with his publishing house. What attracted you to select AE as your Publisher?

I got to know about Kunal through facebook. We had some good number of mutual friends. I knew that Authors Empire is not that old a publisher and has recently been started but the way it has grown in such a less time period was really commendable. With the amazing book printing quality, great distribution network and very-friendly and helping nature of Kunal, the CEO of publishing house, who wouldn’t want to be associated with it? At the time when I contacted Kunal, I had an offer from one of the established publishing houses too, but I chose to go with Author’s empire rather as I felt my book will be in much safer hands and will have better future than it’s with the other one.

11)   What are your expectations  from your readers?

Like every other author, I expect the readers to like my book too. But other than that I also expect them to like the protagonist “Ena” in the book, character around whom the story revolves.

12)   Shivam, what are your other passions in life?

Apart from writing, I love reading, swimming, dancing (I have been trained in salsa), travelling, and the list goes on…

13)   Where you see yourself 5 years down the line?

Five years down the line, I see myself comfortably settled in life as a successful entrepreneur and an author.

14)  To be an author what qualities are mandatory as per you?

To be an author, first and foremost thing I feel is one should be a good reader and observer or listener. Your writing reflects your taste in reading. And then one should have really good command on the language he is writing book in.

15)   What next after this novel?

Nothing planned and decided as of yet. It’s not that if I have written a book then I will write the second one too. I can and I will but only when something interesting happens in life again that I feel worthwhile to write and share with everyone.

16)   Any suggestion for budding authors?

Don’t come into the writing if your aim is just getting famous and earning big bucks. You will be disappointed. Write only when you are really passionate about it and when you have something really extraordinary to write and share with people. And last and most important one – ‘Have Patience’. Great things in life take time to happen and writing asks for too much patience.

17)   In One line who is Shivam the author?

An over-ambitious and adventurous soul which dreams a lot.

Leave a Reply

